• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

  • Running Training Log
  • Flickr Photos

    Roommate love

    Fizzy Vampire at Swanky Bubbles

    ANNEX

    More Photos

Two Sides to Every Coin

My last (and first) blood donation went so smoothly, I never would have imagined the utter Fail I got today. I’m reluctant to even talk about it, because I don’t want to discourage anyone from donating if you are able to do so.

One fun thing about donating is I feel like I get a free ‘mini-physical.’ As a new vegetarian, it’s good to know my hemoglobin counts are still in a good range. Also, I was thrilled to see my resting heart rate is now 65! Pretty low considering 2 months ago it was 80 and that I was still a little nervous when they recorded it. Glad to know my body is appreciating my work outs! My blood pressure is also down 10 points in both systolic and diastolic.

But, they had trouble getting my vein to cooperate. And I stupidly looked as she was moving the needle around under my skin to try to get to a good area. I usually have no issue with needles/blood, but this time I got really queasy, and just decided I needed to try again in a couple weeks. I was just not in the mental state to do it after going through that pain and grossness. I should have not looked and also eaten a bigger lunch. While I love liquid meals, should have had more than soup just today. As the nurse said ‘Girl, you can eat like a bird every other day, but you need to go to town on blood donating days.’

This makes me feel like quoting The Notebook….”If you’re a bird, I’m a bird” ; )

So, since my arm hurt, I decided I needed to go to wine tasting dowtown. Yay Friday. This morning, the arm is pretty bruised and I have a gross blood blister where the needle was fishing around. I definitely don’t feel as happy as I did after my last donation – it was a lot to go through without even getting to help someone. I just hope after I have a couple weeks to forget I’ll still be motivated to give again. I mean, someone has to do it, and luckily I’m in pretty good health and am not afraid of needles (on a normal day…), so I’m a pretty good candidate.

At least I still got a cookie!

Peace,

Karen

3 Responses

  1. I’ve always loved donating blood, but I never EVER look while they’re sticking the needle and tubing all up in my business. (I can’t even look when they prick my finger to check my iron levels.) The last time I gave blood was a few weeks ago, and they had trouble finding my vein, too! That was a first (and hopefully a last.) But luckily the girl didn’t stab me or root around in my arm forever; she just kept the pressurized arm band thing (I should really know what that’s called — tourniquet?) on for like ten minutes, REALLY tight, and I told her, “I haven’t even started giving blood and you’re already making me feel woozy.” 😛

    You can do it again!

    • haha, yes, i hope this is a rare fluke. And I feel like I def need to be brave and try to have another good experience so I can be a better example to others and be motivated again. Stay tuned!

  2. I have never given blood before, but have been thinking about it a lot lately. I always pass by the blood drives at school, and think “I should do that someday”. But still haven’t built up the courage to do so lol. Awesome on the new hear rate and blood pressure. It is crazy how much of an affect exercise has on our health 🙂

Leave a Reply

