• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

  • Running Training Log
  • Flickr Photos

    Roommate love

    Fizzy Vampire at Swanky Bubbles

    ANNEX

    More Photos

2010 Resolution Check-in!

Happy Christmas , everyone! I hope you all had a good day whether you were celebrating with friends and family or if it was just another day. I had the best Christmas I’ve had in a few years even though I was sniffly for it. My family doesn’t do much, since it’s just the 3 of us these days, but we had fun watching the Disney parade and playing with my Dad’s new Keurig. I’m going to miss that thing when I go back to Cville.

But, let’s get to the business of rapping up the year a bit and see how I did on those pesky resolutions I set last year.

1. Begin a Running Program

Success! I’m still running, though not as often as I would like, or as far as I thought I would be by now. But hey, this time last year I could only run like a minute or 2 at a time. And now, I can run a 5K and not be sore the next day. It’s all about progress, Baby.

2. Go organic and significantly reduce meat consumption.

Probably my most significant success. I very rarely eat meat these days, and basically consider myself a vegetarian. I also participated in a crop share. While I’m not 100% organic, I am tipping the scale more and more and have cut most artificial crap out of my diet.

3. Do yoga at least once a week to reduce stress and improve strength and flexibility.

Fail. I got into biking and swimming….but it would be nice to get into yoga again. Just gotta figure out how to make the time. I’m not to upset about this fail considering all the other successes I had.

4. Cook one new and exciting dish a week – and blog about it!

I rocked this one early last year, but lately it’s all been fast stuff. So Semi-success. I didn’t really blog about it though. Oh wellz.

5. Complete the 6 basic personal finance foundations from ramit’s book/blog – I Will Teach You to be Rich.

Major fail….which is a bummer. I definitely need to make this a higher priority next year.

6. Join a club to meet people in Charlottesville.

Multiple checks. I did kickball, ultimate frisbee, and bible study/church. Even though most of them weren’t the best fit for me, I did much better getting out and putting myself out there.

7. Get out of the house more – ex: study in new places

Big check! I’m way more sociable than last year. It helps though, that I have more friends :).

8.  Take more photos and make more time for scrapbooking.

Fail…… yeah.

9. Communicate!!!! – Tell people how I feel and quit bottling everything up.

This was a big success for me this year actually. Although, things often didn’t end up how I wanted them to, I’m glad I had the courage to speak up early and stop wasting time in certain situations.

 

As you can see, I had a pretty successful year. I’ll write more about this soon, but I can’t believe how much better life is at the end of 2010 than it was at the beginning. I really reinvented myself. And, I think this blog played a significant part in that. Working out and eating better made me stronger and have more energy, and I used that energy and confidence to improve a lot of other areas in my life. I changed crappy situations I was in even though I didn’t fully want to. And life is much better for it. I’m very proud, thankful, and blessed to be where I am today. I hope I can continue this momentum in 2011!

Leave a Reply

