• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

  • Running Training Log
  • Flickr Photos

    Roommate love

    Fizzy Vampire at Swanky Bubbles

    ANNEX

    More Photos

And here they are… Ready or not 2011, Here I come!

Yes, finally time to put finger to key on these new years resolutions. I’m excited about them, but don’t feel the same intense drive as last year. Last year was about change, this year is really about upping the ante.

1. Run a race! And hopefully this race will be the C-ville 10-miler at the end of March. My training has been pretty off and on…so I’m training on the assumption I will run this 10 miler, but am doubting myself a bit (I know, not cool). So, should I fail I still have to run a 10K or half marathon sometime this year. But either way, at some point this year I will pin a number to my shirt and cross a finish line.

2. Practice piano more – I’m hoping for at least 2X a week. It’s good mental detox, and I’m sad I’ve gone so long without playing. I also want to work more on theory/chords so I can do more embellishing and improving.

3. It’s not all about the cardio – I hope to start incorporating more yoga and swimming in my work-out schedule again. Once a week for both would be ideal.

4. Donate blood 4 times – I did it twice last year and found out I am A positive (holla to all the rest of us out there). You do feel a bit wonky for a day or two after, but I also feel good to give part of myself to others. Apparently it’s good for you too?

5. Get involved with some kind of community service – I don’t know what yet….but I really hope to find some organization that inspires and motivates me.

6. Make some kind of financial plan/budget and automate it…incorporate it. Do it?! – I feel like I would just have more peace of mind if I had an actual system. Right now, everything just works out….but I don’t feel zen about it. I want a plan.

7. Blog Revamp – I want to blog more and recapture the fun of blogging for me. And I think in order to do that this blog is going to focus quite a bit less on pure health and fitness things. I want to incorporate more LIFE, fun, and just what’s going on in my head. Basically, I want to stop trying to mold my blog into something I’m not and just….do what I want.

8. Cook something new 2 times a month – I have the tendancy to eat lots of really simple processed kinds of things (lots of Amy’s and Kashi’s meals). Hopefully by encouraging myself to cook a bit more, I will I dunno, like…be more awesome and want to cook more all the time? Here’s hoping at least.

9. Read 30 books this year – Over break I rediscovered my love of reading. I want to keep it coming. Plus, it will help when I inevitable write the YA romance novel that’s outlined in my head….Speaking of….

10. Participate in National Novel Writing Month (November – NaNoWriMo). Yep….it’s happening! I’m excited about the book and the couple people i’ve mentioned my outline to seem interested to. We shall see!!!

4 Responses

  1. Solid goals! Good luck!

  2. I just wanted to let you know that I read your post and that your community service goal reminded me that I had wanted to become a tutor. So I’m adopting it as one of my own as well 😀

    Miss you!!

  3. I’m A positive, too!

Leave a Reply

